Monday, April 15, 2013

Joe Philbin named to NFL's Coaches Subcommittee


Joe Philbin took on a new title last year when he became head coach of the Miami Dolphins.

Monday, he added another one.

The NFL announced four new members of its Coaches Subcommittee of the Competition Committee, and Philbin was on the roster, along with Leslie Frazier (Minnesota Vikings), Ron Rivera (Carolina Panthers) and Mike Smith (Atlanta Falcons).

The Subcommittee is headed by Chairman John Madden and answers to the full Competition Committee, which it reports to in March and via conference call numerous times throughout the year.

According to a press release, the Subcommittee discusses "player safety, competitive issues, coaching and personnel development and technological innovations."

Tom Coughlin (New York Giants), John Harbaugh (Baltimore Ravens) and Andy Reid (Kansas City Chiefs) are also on the Subcommittee.

The Competition Committee consists of Chairman Rich McKay (Atlanta Falcons), Jeff Fisher (St. Louis Rams), Stephen Jones (Dallas Cowboys), Marvin Lewis (Cincinnati Bengals), John Mara (New York Giants), Mark Murphy (Green Bay Packers), Ozzie Newsome (Baltimore Ravens), Rick Smith (Houston Texans) and Mike Tomlin (Pittsburgh Steelers).

Follow Nick @NickStDenis
Follow AFC East Daily @AFCEastDaily